News

Study to increase memory, language and learning in people with Down syndrome

Wednesday, 13 August 2014 - 9:59am

The study currently taking place at NeuRA seeks to increase memory, language and learning in people with Down syndrome

Frontotemporal Dementia (FTD) Information & Support Day for Families and Support People

Tuesday, 5 August 2014 - 9:55am

Wednesday 1st October 2014, 10.00 am – 3.30 pm

NeuRA explains pain during National Pain Week

Monday, 21 July 2014 - 9:11am

Dr James McAuley was interviewed recently for an ABC feature about the work being done at NeuRA around pain.

A free app to support the assessment of dementia launched worldwide today.

Thursday, 10 July 2014 - 9:21am

Developed by Neuroscience Research Australia’s Professor John Hodges and colleagues at Plymouth

NeuRA's dementia research featured on ABC's Australian Story

Thursday, 26 June 2014 - 9:20am

On Monday June 30 at 8pm Australian Story delves into the world of Christine Bryden.

Dr James McAuley talks 'Pain' on ABC radio

Wednesday, 18 June 2014 - 9:08am

Almost everyone will experience at least one episode of back pain in life. This is often very painful and distressing but usually settles down within a few days or weeks.

Dr Muireann Irish interviewed on ABC radio

Tuesday, 3 June 2014 - 9:33am

Studies of dementia patients are suggesting our social skills rely on the same parts of our brain responsible for daydreaming, imagination and memory.

Participants needed for in-house sleep studies

Monday, 2 June 2014 - 9:22am

Do you have obstructive sleep apnoea or suspect yo might have OSA?

Prominent dementia researchers back Government policy

Wednesday, 14 May 2014 - 9:20am

The country’s leading dementia researchers, consumers and key advocacy groups applaud the Government’s vision to invest $200 million to accelerate research into dementia over the next five years.

New schizophrenia research unveiled on the TEDx Sydney stage

Monday, 14 April 2014 - 9:55am

Professor Cyndi Shannon Weickert will be speaking at the annual TEDx Sydney event being held at the Opera House on Saturday 26 April.

Congratulations to award winners and grant recipients

Friday, 11 April 2014 - 9:00am

Award winner list:

Paxinos Prize

Down Syndrome Drug Trial starts in NSW today

Tuesday, 17 December 2013 - 9:39am

Researchers from NeuRA have launched a clinical study that they hope will help to enhance cognition in people with Down syndrome (DS).

Report reveals marked differences in mortality rate for hip fracture across NSW hospitals

Tuesday, 3 December 2013 - 6:00am

A new report focusing on hip fracture care in NSW reveals a marked variation in patient mortality between public hospitals across NSW.

National Child Restraint Guidelines released today

Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 12:55am

On National Kidsafe Day, parents and carers of children are being urged to consider whether they are buckling up properly before hitting the road.

A new class of illusions discovered at NeuRA

Tuesday, 24 September 2013 - 12:29am

Researchers at Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA) have revealed a new class of illusions with the realisation that humans may be more attuned to their own bodies than previously thought.

BOOKS FOR BRAINS KICKS OFF THIS OCTOBER!

Tuesday, 3 September 2013 - 9:33am

During the month of October book clubs across Australia are invited to read a book for brainpower.

Car Restraints being used more effectively

Thursday, 1 August 2013 - 12:00am

August 22 2013


More of our children being kept safe in cars

Multimillion-dollar boost to brain diseases with opening of new research facility

Monday, 22 July 2013 - 9:00am

Brain research in Australia has received a significant boost with the opening of a new $54 million research facility in Sydney.

Brain region implicated in emotional disturbance in dementia patients

Monday, 8 July 2013 - 12:00am

A study by researchers at Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA) is the first to demonstrate that patients with frontotemporal dementia (FTD) lose the emotional content/colour of their memories.

Dementia in Aboriginal Australians three times as likely

Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 10:00am

The rate of dementia in Aboriginal Australians is three times that of Australia’s non-Indigenous population, a three year study into how Aboriginal Australians age has found.

JOIN US