Piguet Group banner

Piguet Group - Assoc Professor Olivier Piguet

Individuals over the age of 65 years represent the fastest growing segment of the general population. This rise is accompanied by an increase in dementia cases. Dementia is a major cause of dependency, increased health care costs and early death.

Identification of individuals at risk of dementia early in the course of the disease is critical. The overarching objective of this research is to characterise the changes in cognition that represent early indicators of progressive neurodegenerative brain disorders, such as Alzheimer’s disease or frontotemporal dementia, and to define their biological correlates with the aims to improve early diagnosis, diagnosis accuracy and improve care and management of patients.

Greater diagnostic specificity across these disorders and improved discrimination from changes that reflect age-related (or “healthy”) ageing will lead to comprehensive biological-cognitive models of disease presentation and progression.

This research is achieved by using a convergence of clinical and experimental cognitive tests combined with structural and functional neuroimaging approaches.

Click here to access Dr Olivier Piguet's research papers:

Principal Research Fellow, NeuRA
Associate Prof, UNSW
Co-Director FRONTIER, Frontotemporal Dementia Research Group, NeuRA
Visiting Clinical Neuropsychologist, Prince of Wales Hospital
T: +612 9399 1113
E: o.piguet@neura.edu.au

Assoc Prof Olivier Piguet trained in psychology in Geneva and obtained a Master's degree in clinical neuropsychology at the University of Melbourne and a PhD at the University of Sydney. He undertook postdoctoral training at MIT before establishing his research group at Neuroscience Research Australia. He is also a clinical neuropsychologist with 18 years clinical experience, 12 of which dedicated to ageing and neurodegeneration. He has a growing international reputation in the field of cognitive changes associated with healthy and pathological brain ageing and has published over 50 peer-reviewed journal articles on this topic. More recently, his research has focused on the biological correlates underlying changes in emotion processing and memory in frontotemporal dementia. At NeuRA, Dr Piguet collaborates closely with Prof Hodges and Prof Halliday.

Biological basis of episodic memory

Functional and biological correlates of associative memory
Contributions of prefrontal cortices to episodic memory

Brain imaging

Patterns of white matter changes in FTD subtypes
In vivo and postmortem relations of white matter change in FTD

Eating disturbance in FTD

Marked eating disturbances (e.g., overeating) are common in a subset of patients diagnosed with FTD.

Emotion processing in frontotemporal dementia

Emotional memory in frontotemporal dementia
Emotion processes in FTD subtypes

Episodic memory in FTD

Associative memory in frontotemporal dementia
Episodic future thinking in frontotemporal dementia

Research team 
Olivier Piguet's picture
Assoc Professor Olivier Piguet
Principal Research Fellow, NeuRA
Associate Prof, UNSW
T: +612 9399 1113
E: o.piguet@neura.edu.au
Muireann Irish's picture
Dr Muireann Irish
Senior Research Officer
T: +612 9399 1636
E: m.irish@neura.edu.au
Fiona Kumfor's picture
Dr Fiona Kumfor
Research Officer
T: +612 9399 1025
E: f.kumfor@neura.edu.au
Naomi Daveson's picture
Naomi Daveson
Research Assistant
T: +612 9399 1085
E: n.daveson@neura.edu.au
Cassandra Kaizik's picture
Cassandra Kaizik
Research Assistant
T: +612 9399 1085
E: c.kaizik@neura.edu.au
Emma Flanagan's picture
Emma Flanagan
Research Assistant
T: +612 9399 1134
E: e.flanagan@neura.edu.au
Ms Sharon Savage's picture
Sharon Savage
PhD Student
T: +612 9399 1815
E: s.savage@neura.edu.au
Rebekah Ahmed's picture
Rebekah Ahmed
PhD Student
T: +612 9399 1646
E: r.ahmed@neura.edu.au
Luci Barhon's picture
Lucienne Barhon
Research Assistant
Registered Psychologist (Neuropsychology)
T: +612 9399 1085
E: l.barhon@neura.edu.au
Rosi Hutchings's picture
Rosi Hutchings
Research Assistant
T: +612 9399 1085
E: r.hutchings@neura.edu.au
Samantha Schubert's picture
Samantha Schubert
Research Assistant
T: +612 9399 1802
E: s.schubert@neura.edu.au
Jody Kamminga's picture
Jody Kamminga
Research Assistant
T: +612 9399 1025
E: j.kamminga@neura.edu.au
Bonnie Lam's picture
Bonnie Lam
PhD Student
T: +612 9399 1803
E: b.lam@neura.edu.au
Claire O'Callaghan's picture
Claire O'Callaghan
PhD Student
T: +612 9399 1134
E: c.ocallaghan@neura.edu.au
Sicong Tu's picture
Sicong Tu
PhD Student
T: +612 9399 1815
E: s.tu@neura.edu.au
Stephanie Wong's picture
Stephanie Wong
Masters (Visiting)
T: +612 9399 1802
E: s.wong@neura.edu.au

JOIN US