MRI images of the brain on lightboard

NeuRA Invited Seminar Series 2018

The NeuRA Invited Lecture series aims to attract leading national and international researchers from all fields of neuroscience.

Novel approaches for investigating normal brain function and neurodegenerative diseases using simultaneous MR-PET imaging.

Date Speaker Position/Institution Topic
Feb 23rd at 12:00 pm Prof Simon Gandevia Deputy Director, NeuRA Research and reproducibility: Messages from Charles Darwin
Mar 23rd, at 12:00 pm A/Prof Tony Roscioli Group Leader, NeuRA Genomics in Neurocognitive Disorders – From Aetiology to Therapy
Apr 27th, at 12:00 pm Prof Anne Kelso CEO, NHMRC Research funding reform at NHMRC.
May 25th, at 12:00 pm Prof Gary Egan Director, Monash Biomedical Imaging, Monash Univerity Novel approaches for investigating normal brain function and neurodegenerative diseases using simultaneous MR-PET imaging.
July 20th, at 12:00 pm Dr Michael Pluess Head of Psychology Department, School of Biological and Chemical Sciences, Queen Mary University of London Individual differences in environmental sensitivity
Aug 24th, at 12:00 pm Dr Lucette Cysique NeuroHIV, NeuRA HIV and brain aging: A challenge that the HIV epidemic should not ignore.
Sep 28th, at 12:00 pm Dr Karen Mather Leader of the Genetics and Epigenomics Group, Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing, NeuRA Identifying the genetic and epigenetic factors linked to successful ageing by studying exceptional longevity.
Oct 26th, at 12:00 pm Prof Sharon Naismith Leonard P Ullman Chair in Psychology, School of Psychology, Charles Perkins Centre, University of Sydney  TBA
 Nov 23rd, at 12:00 pm Prof Nigel Lovell Scientia Professor & Acting Head of Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering TBA

Primary contacts

Dr Justine Gatt (T: +612 9399 1812 E: j.gatt@neura.edu.au)

Dr Tertia Purves-Tyson (T: +612 9399 1649 E: t.purves-tyson@neura.edu.au)

Dr Jasmine Menant (T: +612 9399 1267 E: j.menant@neura.edu.au)

Scientia Prof George Paxinos AO (T: +612 93991094 E: g.paxinos@neura.edu.au)

Dr Ruth Peters (T: +612 9399 1015 E: r.peters@neura.edu.au)

Dr Steve Kassem (T: +612 9399 1037 E: s.kassem@neura.edu.au)

Location:

NeuRA, Level 3 John and Betty Lynch Seminar Room