NeuRA Invited Seminar Series 2019

The NeuRA Invited Lecture series aims to attract leading national and international researchers from all fields of neuroscience. This series is open to all NeuRA staff and relevant external groups.

If you are from a relevant external group or individual and would like to sign up to Invited Series Seminar emails, please fill out the form.

 

Date Speaker Position/Institution Topic
22nd of Feb Prof Bernard Balleine UNSW, Decision Neuroscience Lab Interaction of the corticostriatal and thalamostriatal networks in goal-directed action
29th of Mar Prof Nicola Lautenshlager University of Melbourne Physical activity for cognitive health: what can we tell older adults with subjective cognitive decline and mild cognitive impairment?
3rd of May Prof Fernando Calamante Director, Sydney Imaging, University of Sydney Diffusion MRI fibre-tracking: a non-invasive window to the brain’s wiring
31st of May Prof Steven Petrou Director, The Florey Institute Opportunities for intervention in rare neurogenetic disorders
21st of Jun Dr Francesco Papaleo Italian Institute of Technology, Genova, Italy Perinatal oxytocin to ameliorate altered developmental trajectories in 22q11.2 Deletion Syndrome
26th of Jul Prof Jacqui Close Group Leader, NeuRA Preventing falls and preserving function in people with dementia – a tailored approach to intervention
30th of Aug Prof Tom Johnstone Director of Neuroimaging, School of Health Sciences, Swinburne University of Technology Concurrent EEG-fMRI reveals rapid, cortically distributed neural representations of personal relevance of faces that precede structural encoding
27th of Sep Prof Peter Catcheside College of Medicine and Public Health, Flinders University New insights into obstructive sleep apnoea mechanisms and mechanical ventilation timing problems through a new method for quantifying inspiratory effort
25th of Oct Dr Ruth Peters Group Leader, NeuRA An up to date overview of blood pressure, blood pressure lowering and risk of dementia
29th of Nov A/Prof Erica Sloan Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia; Semel Institute for Neuroscience & Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of California Los Angeles No stress! Targeting peripheral neural signalling to stop metastasis and improve cancer treatment

Primary contacts

Dr Justine Gatt (T: +612 9399 1812 E: j.gatt@neura.edu.au)

Dr Tertia Purves-Tyson (T: +612 9399 1649 E: t.purves-tyson@neura.edu.au)

Dr Jasmine Menant (T: +612 9399 1267 E: j.menant@neura.edu.au)

Scientia Prof George Paxinos AO (T: +612 93991094 E: g.paxinos@neura.edu.au)

Dr Ruth Peters (T: +612 9399 1015 E: r.peters@neura.edu.au)

Dr Steve Kassem (T: +612 9399 1037 E: s.kassem@neura.edu.au)

Location:

NeuRA, Level 3 John and Betty Lynch Seminar Room