NeuRA Seminar Series 2020

The NeuRA Seminar Series aims to provide the opportunity to listen to interesting and leading research across all fields of neuroscience.

Presenters will include a mix of NeuRA-based scientists, as well as invited presentations from external domestic and international scientific experts.

The presentations are held every Friday at 12 noon, in the Level 3 John and Betty Lynch Seminar Room. The presentations aim to run for one hour.

If you are interested in attending these seminars and wish to be added to the regular email mailing list, please fill out the form.

Date Speaker Position/Institution Topic
7th of Feb 1. Dr Matt Brodie; 2. Dr Lara Harvey 1. Lord/Delbaere Groups (NeuRA); 2. Close Group (NeuRA) 1. Preventing motor impairment with peripheral nerve stimulation, smart textiles, and mobile technology.

2. The use of the physiological profile assessment to improve the prediction of fragility fractures in community-dwelling older people.

14th of Feb 1. Dr Phu Hoang; 2. Dr Euan McCaughey 1. Lord/Gandevia Groups (NeuRA); 2. Butler Group (NeuRA) 1. Footdrop & ankle contractures and mobility in people with MS.

2. Category two to four funding for early-mid career researchers: an untapped pool?

21st of Feb 1. Lewis Ingram (PhD); 2. Sonia Hesam-Shariati 1. Lord/Gandevia Groups (NeuRA); 2. Fullerton Group (NeuRA) 1. The upper limb Physiological Profile Assessment (PPA): quantifying upper limb motor impairment across the adult lifespan and disease; 2. Role of Epigenetic Contributors in Developing Bipolar Disorder at High Familial Risk
28th of Feb Prof Carol Jagger Newcastle Unversity, UK Understanding past trends in healthy life expectancy and prospects for the future.
6th of Mar 1. Dr Hanna Hensen; 2. Prof Melissa Green 1. Eckert Group (NeuRA); 2. Green Group (NeuRA) Sleep problems in people with multiple sclerosis: rates, mechanisms and consequences.
13th of Mar 1. Samantha Owens (PhD); 2. Dr Adam Lawther 1. Shannon-Weickert Group (NeuRA); 2. Walker Group (NeuRA) TBA
20th of Mar Prof Richard Kemp UNSW TBA
27th of Mar Paulo Pelicioni (PhD)  Lord Group (NeuRA) TBA
3rd of Apr 1. Zoë Djajadikarta (RA); 2. Weike van Dijk (MSc) 1. Gandevia Group (NeuRA); 2. Shannon-Weickert Group (NeuRA) TBA
10th of Apr Good Friday Good Friday Good Friday
24th of Apr Prof Charles Springer Advanced Imaging Research Center, OHSU, Oregon TBA
1st of May  TBA  TBA  TBA
8th of May  TBA  TBA  TBA
15th of May Prof Americo Migliaccio Migliaccio Group (NeuRA)  TBA
29th of May Prof Chris Rowe Austin Health, Melbourne  TBA
5th of Jun  TBA  TBA  TBA
12th of Jun  TBA  TBA  TBA
19th of Jun Dr Martin Heroux Gandevia Group (NeuRA)
26th of Jun  TBA  TBA  TBA
3rd of Jul  TBA  TBA  TBA
10th of Jul  TBA  TBA  TBA
17th of Jul  TBA  TBA  TBA
24th of Jul  TBA  TBA  TBA
31-Jul-20 Dr Andrew Phillips Monash University  TBA

 

Primary contacts

Dr Justine Gatt (T: +612 9399 1812 E: j.gatt@neura.edu.au)

Dr Tertia Purves-Tyson (T: +612 9399 1649 E: t.purves-tyson@neura.edu.au)

Dr Jasmine Menant (T: +612 9399 1267 E: j.menant@neura.edu.au)

Dr Ruth Peters (T: +612 9399 1015 E: r.peters@neura.edu.au)

Dr Steve Kassem (T: +612 9399 1128 E: s.kassem@neura.edu.au)

Dr Adam Walker (T: +612 9399 1026 E: a.walker@neura.edu.au)

Dr Moyra Mortby (T: +612 9399 1147 E: m.mortby@neura.edu.au)

 

Location:

NeuRA, Level 3 John and Betty Lynch Seminar Room