NeuRA Seminar Series 2022

The NeuRA Seminar Series aims to provide the opportunity to listen to interesting and leading research across all fields of neuroscience. Presenters will include a mix of NeuRA-based scientists, as well as invited presentations from external domestic and international scientific experts. The presentations are held every Friday at 12 noon online and in the Level 3 John and Betty Lynch Seminar Room. The presentations aim to run for one hour.

The Seminar Committee is also continuing NeuRA Fast Talks / Drinks Series for 2022. This is an internal networking event that aims to occur monthly on the first Tuesday of the month from 4pm, this will include 3-4 NeuRA speakers followed by casual drinks.

If you are interested in attending these seminars and wish to be added to the regular email mailing list, please fill out the form.

 Date  Speaker   Position/Institution   Topic
 18 Feb 22  Cyndi Shannon-
Weickert
 Shannon Weickert  An SOS from Dopamine Neurons in Schizophrenia
 25 Feb 22  Sonia Hesam Shariati  Fullerton  Environmental and biological contributors to the risk of bipolar disorder
 4 Mar 22  Samantha Millard  Schabrun  Modulating the brain’s sensitivity to pain
 18 Mar 22  Invited speaker
Associate  Professor
Susanna Park
 Brain and Mind Institute, University of Sydney  Nerve Damage Following Cancer Treatment – Connecting Neuroscience and Oncology Practice
 25 Mar 22  Ellen Finlay  Radford  Indigenous populations, ageing and the legacies of colonisation
 1 Apr 22  Hayley North  Shannon Weickert  Discovering links between inflammation, neurogenesis, brain structure and brain function in schizophrenia
 8 Apr 22  Jessica Chandra  Shannon Weickert  Effect of chronic antipsychotic treatment on neuroinflammation and dopamine neuron health in rats
 22 Apr 22  Invited speaker
Colleen Loo
 Blackdog Institute – UNSW  TBC
 29 Apr 22  Cameron Hicks  Lord  Ladder use in older people
 6 May 22  Atqiya Aishah  Eckert  Targeted therapies for obstructive sleep apnoea
 13 May 22  Nisha Mathew Walker  TBC
 20 May 22 Invited speaker
Professor Georgina
Long
 Melanoma Institute Australia & the University of Sydney  TBC
 27 May 22 Bianca Albanese Brown  TBC
 3 Jun 22 Myf Cohen Bilston  TBC
 10 Jun 22 Meghan  Ambrens Delbaere  Exploring the experiences of our older population: Past, present and future
 17 Jun 22 Anandit Mathew  Butler  TBC
 24 Jun 22 Michael Wewege  McAuley  Analgesic medicines for acute low back pain: results from a systematic review and meta-analysis
 1 Jul 22 Kerith-Rae Dias  Roscioli  TBC
 8 Jul 22 Deepak Sharma  Ingvars Grouping impulses in tactile afferents can change perceptions
 15 Jul 22 Delyse McCaffrey Evidence for microglia as the unsuspected culprit of cancer-induced anxiety-like behaviour
 22 Jul 22  Invited Speaker: Juno Kim  TBC
 29 Jul-22 Anita Nitchingham Hypoactive and hypometabolic: the hype of FDG-PET in delirium.
 5 Aug 22
 12 Aug 22
 19 Aug 22 Invited Speaker: Danny Eckert
 26 Aug 22 Yilan Zhang
 2 Sep 22 Tharanwat Chantanachai
 9 Sep 22 Gabby Allen
 16 Sep 22 Lidan Zheng Anstey
 23 Sep 22 Invited Speaker: Genevieve Steiner
 30 Sep 22 Haeme Park
 7 Oct 22 Richard Vickery + Invited Speaker: Dr Kuo-Sheng Lee
 14 Oct 22 Rob Lloyd
 21 Oct 22 Lloyd Chan
 28 Oct 22 Kasia Bilska
 4 Nov 22 Lauren Poulos
 11 Nov 22 Lauriane Juge
 18 Nov 22 Brian Chow
 25 Nov 22 Steven Phu
 2 Dec 22 Fiona Knapman Optogenetics for Obstructive Sleep Apneia
 9 Dec 22 Tertia Purves-Tyson
 16 Dec 22 Mae Lim
 23 Dec 22

Primary contacts

Dr Jasmine Menant, Chair (j.menant@neura.edu.au)

Dr Bart Bolsterlee, Deputy chair (b.bolsterlee@neura.edu.au)

Dr Annie Palermo (a.palermo@neura.edu.au)

Ms Madeleine Veinovic (m.veinovic@neura.edu.au)

Dr Sophie Andrews (s.andrews@neura.edu.au)

Dr Steve Kassem (s.kassem@neura.edu.au)

Dr Adam Walker (a.walker@neura.edu.au)

Mr Lloyd Chan (l.chan@neura.edu.au)

Dr Kim van Schooten (k.vanschooten@neura.edu.au)

Dr Adam Lawther (a.lawther@neura.edu.au)